Martin Fishing Derby




AGENCY:      Martin Parks & Recreation

EVENT:          Fishing Derby

DATE:            June 12, 2021, 8 am – 12 noon

LOCATION:  Martin Recreation Complex Lake

CONTACT:    Mike Garvin

                        587-6784 phone, 587-9273 fax






                52 participants, 14 & under, attended the free event this past Saturday co-sponsored by the Martin Kiwanis Club, TWRA and our department.  101 fish were caught.  It was cloudy and mild temperature, but the fish were biting, and our little fishermen and ladies were reeling them in!  Everyone enjoyed the day!

The winners of trophies are as follows:

                                    5 & Under                6- 8 yrs.               9-11 yrs.           12-14 yrs.

MOST FISH              Jackson Cross                  Grace Wright               Luke Smith           Kyler Scott                             

LONGEST FISH      Davis Wilson                   Madison Gooch          Aiden Morris       Jake Burke           

HEAVIEST FISH     Kenneth Smith                Donavan Chapman    Evan Rotger        Jacob Inman            

SHORTEST FISH    Nash Bennett                  Colton Stewart            Briar Nevil          Blake Inman     

UGLIEST FISH        Barrett Phillips               Annslee Smith          Riley Smith       Kyler Scott

BEST DRESSED      Chrystian Oymel            Avery Cross                Jack Merritt        Emma Boaz              

                Our department extends sincere appreciation to the Martin Kiwanis Club (co-sponsor/workers/trophies); the Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency (500 lb. catfish), as well as, those who participated in this annual event.  We hope everyone enjoyed fishing at the Martin Recreation Complex. 


Random Drawing Winners


Winners – 5 & Under: Barrett Phillips, Davis Wilson, Nevada Belt, Jackson Cross, Cayleigh Stewart and Nask Bennett

Winners – 6-8: JJ Golt, Liam Sallee, Madison Gooch, Colton Stewart, Skyler Belt, Avery Cross and Myka Belt

Winners-9-11: Jaycee McGeehee, Briar Nevil, Brice Lemon, Jack Merritt, Aiden Morris, Kaleigh Diebold and K’Mari Thompson

Winners 12-14: Blake Inman, Jacob Inman, Jake Burke, Emma Boaz and Kyler Scott